Thursday, February 27, 2014

COMPROMISING WILLA by Diana Quincy ~ Blog Tour ~ Giveaway ~ Top 10 Guest Post

 By Diana Quincy

Giveaway Details:
1 Paperback of Tempting Bella, 1 tin of Compromising Willa Custom Tea, and a $10 Starbucks Gift Card! US Only.
3 eBooks of Compromising Willa International
Blog Post: Top 10 Favorite Heroes in Historical Romance

A romance novel is nothing without a compelling hero who draws us in and make us want to visit with him for a while. Romance heroes can be tough, masculine and take-charge, or quiet and more laidback, something like Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice. For me, the sexiest hero also has a flaw, which adds dimension to his personality. Whether a hero is an alpha or a beta, one characteristic every romance novel leading man has in common is a complete and total devotion to the heroine. That’s what ultimately makes us fall in love with him right along with the heroine, which I have certainly done with the ten unforgettable heroes below.

Diana Quincy’s Top 10 Favorite Heroes in Historical Romance

Derek Craven (Dreaming of You by Lisa Kleypas) The tough but tender hero who rises from the gutter to become owner of a gaming hell and one of the richest men in England.

Cam Rohan  (Mine Until Midnight by Lisa Kleypas) A mysterious half-gypsy becomes the unlikely patriarch of the unruly Hathaways.

Adrian Hawkhurst aka Hawker (The Black Hawk by Joanna Bourne) A thief and pickpocket turned master spy who meets his match in fellow spy Justine. The first time they make love is one of romance’s most memorable scenes.

Lucien de Vaux (An Unwilling Bride by Jo Beverley) The arrogant ducal heir learns he is a bastard and overcomes his anger to court his unwilling bride with genuine kindness and decency.

Ismael, Comte D'Esmond  (Captives of the Night by Loretta Chase) A suave and completely unique hero, Esmond skates on the edges of darkness, which adds to his allure.

Adam Kent (The Secret Pearl by Mary Balogh) Although the book begins with Adam, the Duke of Ridgway, hiring a prostitute (who turns out to be the heroine), we soon learn he is a decent and caring man trapped in a loveless marriage.

Alexander Moncrieffe (What I Did for a Duke by Julie Anne Long)  The Duke of Falconbridge has a reputation for being cold and ruthless. Watching him warm up to his enemy’s sister, Genevieve, who yearns for another man, makes for a most entertaining entanglement.

Michael Stirling (When He Was Wicked by Julia Quinn) The long-suffering Earl of Kilmartin must hide his love for his cousin’s wife and becomes her best friend instead. When her husband dies, Michael inherits the title and must confront his strong feelings for the widow.

Kyle Bradwell  (Secrets of Surrender by Madeline Hunter)  A coal miner’s son turned architect, Bradwell rescues the heroine from complete humiliation after her protector sells her to the highest bidder at a house party.

Camden Saybrook (Private Arrangements by Sherry Thomas) Sexy Lord Tremaine is kind, compassionate and desperately in love with his estranged wife, who wants to divorce him and marry another man.

About the Book:

England, 1805

Lady Wilhelmina Stanhope is ruined and everyone knows it. Back in Town for the first season since her downfall, Willa plans to remain firmly on the shelf, assuming only fortune hunters will want her now. Instead she focuses on her unique tea blends, secretly supporting a coffee house which employs poor women and children. If her clandestine involvement in trade is discovered, she'll be ruined. Again.

No one is more shocked by Willa's lack of quality suitors than the newly minted Duke of Hartwell. Having just returned from India, the dark duke is instantly attracted to the mysterious wallflower. His pursuit is hampered by the ruthless Earl of Bellingham, who once jilted Willa and is now determined to reclaim her.

Caught between the clash of two powerful men, a furious Willa refuses to concede her independence to save her reputation. But will she compromise her heart?

EBook: 267 pages
Release Date: December 9, 2013
ISBN: 978-1622664146
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble


Willa did not appear surprised to find herself sitting next to Hartwell at supper. Nor did she seem to mind.

“I find I have the best seat at the table,” he said as they took their places.

“Are you certain the air won’t be too brisk for you?”

He grinned. “Why Lady Wilhelmina, in your own Arctic way, I do believe you are flirting with me.”

“You are our guest,” she answered in smooth tones. “Pray don’t mistake polite discourse for something that it is not.”

“Ouch.” He touched his heart in dramatic fashion. Sitting next to her, he’d have no need of dessert. She was like a Gunter’s lemon ice—tangy, tart, and delectably frosty.

She curved those pillowed lips into a smile, a reluctant one, but he still counted that a victory. “Surely you are not so easily wounded, Your Grace.”

“Actually, as a second son, I have heard far worse. One is not as popular when he is not in line to inherit a dukedom, or at least a vast fortune. As fate would have it, I am now in possession of both.”

“Clearly modesty is not something you are in possession of.”

Hart gave a mischievous smile. “Usually a title and deep pockets are sufficient to attract the attention of a lovely creature such as yourself.” He sipped his wine. “Otherwise, I shall have to win you over with my equally deep reservoirs of charm and good looks.”

Her closed mouth wobbled with laughter until she managed to wrangle it into submission. “I should like to know when you decide to begin employing those qualities.”

Hart shot her a surprised look. She was teasing him again. Promising. He softened his tone. “Oh, believe me, my lady, I intend to make you well aware of my charms.”

About Diana:

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she'd rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed.

Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love her Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is "Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable...Equal parts action, passion and fun."

Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows. Diana loves to hear from readers. You can follow her on Twitter @Diana_Quincy or visit her website at

To learn more about Diana's upcoming books and for sneak previews and other special exclusive giveaways, please consider signing up for her quarterly newsletters at Diana understands your information is private and promises NEVER to share it with anyone.

Tour Schedule

Week One:
2/17/2014-Michelle Chew Writes- Review
2/17/2014- Simply Ali- Scavenger Hunt
2/18/2014- Bookworm Blurbs- Review
2/18/2014- herding cats & burning soup - Interview
2/19/2014- Margay Leah Justice - Review
2/19/2014- Curling Up With A Good Book- Scavenger Hunt
2/20/2014- Ramblings From This Chick- Review
2/20/2014- Sapphyria's Book Reviews- Guest Post (Top 10's)
2/21/2014- BookGroupies- Review
2/21/2014- Romantic Reads and Such- Scavenger Hunt

Week Two:
2/24/2014- Always Reiding- Review
2/24/2014- Fade Into Fantasy- Scavenger Hunt
2/25/2014- The Gal in the Blue Mask- Review
2/25/2014- Fab Fantasy Fiction- Interview
2/26/2014- What I'm Reading- Review
2/26/2014- Ex Libris- Scavenger Hunt
2/27/2014- Becky on Books- Review
2/27/2014- Reviews by Crystal- Guest Post (Top 10's)
2/28/2014- The La La Land of Books- Review
2/28/2014- Talking Books Blog- Scavenger Hunt

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I've read one Joanna Bourne & loved it. Black Hawk is high on my TBR list...
    In historicals...
    Nicholas ~ Cheryl Holt He's over the top arrogant but hilarious too. Had a lot of fun w/ him.
    Can't recall the title or his name because it's been ages but the author is Madeline Hunter & you don't see many heroes like him..*S*
    In contemporary my newest fave is Alaric Canon from The Plan by Qwen Salsbury.

    1. Hi Ivy,

      I hope you do read Black Hawk soon. It's one of my all-time favorites in any genre. I am a huge Madeline Hunter fan and have read all of her books so you're making me wonder which hero you are thinking of!

  2. Great exceprt, the book sounds great.---Rachel (ws chat)

  3. Wow, so many new authors to add to the TBR mountain! Thanks for the post (and congrats on the great story), this is such a fun excerpt!